getting started

what to write… I finally did it.  I signed on to blog!  I love writing.  I do.  And I do it a lot.  snippets of stories here and there.  ideas that lead to nowhere kinda like the winchester mystery house… but what blood contract am I fulfilling?  Obviously none.  But I digress.  Yeah and that’s just it.  I have ADD.  Undiagnosed, but I’m pretty sure I have it and for sure my pops has it.  You just have to spend an exhausting day with him or a 2 week vacation and you too will validate this theory.  And apparently it’s pretty common — ADD that doesn’t seemingly interfere in a person’s ability to function in their daily life often goes undiagnosed and is usually hereditary.  Leads to some pretty awesome multi-tasking when things are ‘on fire’ but staying on task and listening to other people and following through with self-projects  is DIFFICULT if not impossible.  I’ve somehow combatted this by teaming up with other folks to keep myself accountable (I’m extremely obedient).  And I’ve also been able to catch up to conversations by thinking about what a person was saying 5 minutes after the conversation and then responding.  Also, in my adult age, I’m no longer shy about asking you to repeat yourself.  Because I do care and I want to know what you said.  And that’s easier than me doing the conversation catch up concentration thingy — and I’m finding that as I get older that I can’t do it as well as I used to. You might say that hell, EVERYONE has this problem.  Well, you’ll just have to take my word for it. And my sister’s word for it.  And what does ADD have to do with this blog anyway?  I’m getting married.  And while I have lots of things to do, I thought blogging would be a great way to procrastinate and capture my ADD tendencies for posterity.  Let the blogging begin!

Leave a Reply

