How to Survive a Pregnancy and Prep – Changinator-style

Now that things are winding down and I’ve packed my bag for the hospital (holy shit!) I really can’t believe how quickly the last 9 months have gone.

I can’t say that being pregnant is my favorite thing ever.  (I think those women who say they loved being pregnant are lying – no offense.)  There were things that were worse than (nausea) or better than (third trimester) what I expected.  But it’s amazing – in every sense of the word.

First the emotional component:  It definitely brings the things that are important to you into sharp focus.  Or, more like, you find out what is important to you.  And you discover the things that aren’t.  And the things that aren’t important can go to hell – which is a crazy notion since I was completely obsessed and neurotic about the stupid stuff just a few months ago.  I was afraid that my life was over, but in fact, my life is just beginning.  And rather than diminishing my ambition and passion for my career goals, I’m finding that I am devoting myself with a new kind of focus.  Yes, for sure I will have less time, but time can exist, there’s just less of it to waste on worry.  And it’s pretty profound to experience the ability to support a new life.  I mean, it moves and responds and you’re connected to it in the closest way possible.  CRAZY!

Ok, the physical component:  I saw a cousin of mine recently who I hadn’t seen since pre-pregnancy and she said, your face looks the same but your butt is definitely bigger – but seems that all your weight gain is in your stomach!  My belly is enormous, but for the most part, everything else about me seems to look the same to most people.  (I AM NOT THE SAME, I ASSURE YOU.) But apparently that actually means I look ‘amazing.’  (It must be that the expectation for women who become pregnant is to transform into hideous and grotesque beings and if you somehow maintain a mostly normal appearance other than your ballooning belly, that somehow you deserve high praise? But every pregnant woman I know looks pretty great with their glow, i.e. extra blood flow.)  And so, I am not actually sure if this is a compliment or not.

In any case, my husband is a pretty great equalizer and tells it like it is:

ME: Do I look different? Or the same?

D: Different.  You’re definitely much bigger.

ME:  Fatter, right?

D: You’re definitely pregnant.

ME: Fatter?

D: I’d be worried if you weren’t.  You’d be endangering my kid.

ME: (pondering this) …My butt is bigger right?

D:  It’s definitely wider.

ME: (thinking) OK. Thank you!

In all seriousness, I did want to try to keep up my physical and mental activity level while pregnant – I heard it helps with delivery and recovery afterward.  (I’ll report back and let y’all know.)

So here’s a list of the things I’ve been doing to try to stay healthy and cope with the constant physical and emotional changes:

1 – The perfect pregnancy workout DVD. (demonstrated by a very pregnant Cirque du Soleil performer.)  Uh, I stopped doing this in my third trimester – you should try it, it’s actually pretty strenuous even if you weren’t pregnant.

2 – Prenatal yoga at YogaWorks and Still Yoga.

3 – Prenatal Aquatics class at Rose Bowl Aquatics Center.  (AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING in the third trimester where for 1 hour you feel like your normal self until you climb out of the pool and the extra weight hits you like a bag of bricks.)

4 – When possible, buy only organic food – yeah I’m looking at you Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s.  (Except for the times I found myself in the drive-thru of McDonald’s)

5 – No High Fructose Corn Syrup.  (Altho I  did eat a shitload of Halloween Candy)

6 – Vacuuming (daily) and general household chores.  Picking up dog poop and watering my front and back yard until I couldn’t.   (Sorry husband.)

7 – Direct a Play, Go to Acting Class, (Don’t Stop Your Life!)

8 –  Visits to the Chiropractor @ Silverlake Chiropractic (lifesaver)

9 – Prenatal Massage with Amy Flanzbaum (I’ve been about 3 times and she changes my world)

10 – Hang with friends and seek out pregnant ladies and new moms.  (So amazing to touch base and compare experiences and ask questions! Pregnancy doesn’t have to be an isolating or alienating experience.)

D and I also took some classes:  a childbirthing class (@Providence St Joseph’s) , a CPR class (@ Verdugo Hills hospital), a breastfeeding class (@ Providence St Joseph’s, and a newborn care class (@The Pump Station and Nurtury).  Those seem to be the ‘basics’ as far as infant prep classes are concerned.

Now, A list of the little things I’m looking forward to post-pregnancy:

1 – Sleeping on my back

2 – Eating a Hot Dog from Costco

3 – Not breaking into a sweat from tying shoes and putting underwear on

4 – SUSHI

5 – Rollercoasters

6 – Walking/ Running without feeling like my body is going to fall out of my private lady parts

7 – Auditioning  (oh man, I have never been more excited about reading commercial copy and being judged by other people)

8 – Laying on my stomach

9 – Regular Yoga (prenatal is soothing and all but I’m ready to break out into a sweat and twist and invert and backbends.)

10 – Normal sex with my husband, or really just cuddling without by maternity pillows (aka fortress of solitude)

Wish me luck on D-Day!

How to Survive a Pregnancy and Prep for Parenthood – Changinator-style

Now that things are winding down and I’ve packed my bag for the hospital (holy shit!) I really can’t believe how quickly the last 9 months have gone.

I can’t say that being pregnant is my favorite thing ever.  (I think those women who say they loved being pregnant are lying – no offense.)  There were things that were worse than (nausea) or better than (third trimester) what I expected.  But it’s amazing – in every sense of the word.

First the emotional component:  It definitely brings the things that are important to you into sharp focus.  Or, more like, you find out what is important to you.  And you discover the things that aren’t.  And the things that aren’t important can go to hell – which is crazy since I was completely obsessed and neurotic about the stupid stuff just a few months and weeks ago.  I was afraid that my life was over, but in fact, my life is just beginning.  And rather than diminishing my ambition and passion for my career goals, I’m finding that I am devoting myself with a new kind of focus.  Yes, for sure I will have less time, but time can exist, there’s just less of it to waste on worry.  And it’s pretty profound to experience the ability to support a new life.

Ok, the physical component:  I saw a cousin of mine recently who I hadn’t seen since pre-pregnancy and she said, your face looks the same but your butt is definitely bigger – it seems that all your weight gain is in your stomach!  My belly is enormous, but for the most part, everything else about me seems to look the same to most people.  (I AM NOT THE SAME, I ASSURE YOU.) But apparently that actually means I look amazing.  (It must be that the expectation women who become pregnant to  transform into hideous and grotesque beings and if you somehow maintain a mostly normal appearance other than your ballooning belly, that somehow you deserve high praise?)  And so, I am not actually sure if this is a compliment or not.

In any case, my husband is a pretty great equalizer and tells it like it is:

ME: Do I look different? Or the same?

D: Different.  You’re definitely much bigger.

ME:  Fatter, right?

D: You’re definitely pregnant.

ME: Fatter?

D: I’d be worried if you weren’t.  You’d be endangering my kid.

ME: (pondering this) …My butt is bigger right?

D:  It’s definitely wider.

ME: (thinking) OK. Thank you!

In all seriousness, I did want to try to keep up my physical and mental activity level while pregnant – I heard it helps with delivery and recovery afterward.  (I’ll report back and let y’all know.)

So here’s a list of the things I’ve been doing to try to stay healthy and cope with the constant physical and emotional changes:

1 – The perfect pregnancy workout DVD. (demonstrated by a very pregnant Cirque du Soleil performer.)  Uh, I stopped doing this in my third trimester.

2 – Prenatal yoga at YogaWorks and Still Yoga.

3 – Prenatal Aquatics class at Rose Bowl Aquatics Center.  (AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING in the third trimester where for 1 hour you feel like your normal self until you climb out of the pool and the extra weight hits you like a bag of bricks.)

4 – When possible, buy only organic food – yeah I’m looking at you Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s.  (Except for the times I found myself in the drive-thru of McDonald’s)

5 – No High Fructose Corn Syrup.  (Altho I  did eat a shitload of Halloween Candy)

6 – Vacuuming (daily) and general household chores.  Picking up dog poop and watering my front and back yard until I couldn’t.   (Sorry husband.)

7 – Direct a Play, Go to Acting Class, (Don’t Stop Your Life!)

8 –  Visits to the Chiropractor @ Silverlake Chiropractic – lifesaver

9 – Prenatal Massage with Amy Flanzbaum (I’ve been about 3 times and she changes my world)

10 – Hang with friends and seek out pregnant ladies and new moms.  (So amazing to touch base and compare experiences and ask questions! Pregnancy doesn’t have to be an isolating or alienating experience.)

D and I also took some classes:  a childbirthing class (@Providence St Joseph’s) , a CPR class (@ Verdugo Hills hospital), a breastfeeding class (@ Providence St Joseph’s, and a newborn care class (@The Pump Station and Nurtury)

Now, A list of the little things I’m looking forward to post-pregnancy:

1 – Sleeping on my back

2 – Eating a Hot Dog from Costco

3 – Not breaking into a sweat from tying shoes and putting underwear on

4 – SUSHI

5 – Rollercoasters

6 – Walking/ Running without feeling like my body is going to fall out of my private lady parts

7 – Auditioning  (oh man, I have never been more excited about reading commercial copy and being judged by other people)

8 – Laying on my stomach

9 – Regular Yoga (prenatal is soothing and all but I’m ready to break out into a sweat and twist and invert and backbends.)

10 – Normal sex with my husband, or really just cuddling without by maternity pillows (aka fortress of solitude)

Wish me luck on D-Day!

Leave a Reply

